Bible Study (Part 4)

This entry was previously published by me on another blog. Due to its relevance, I have included it here.

I’m continuing in the Bible Study vein today. I guess I’m moving through the parts of Bible Study (Part 1) over time. I’ve also been encouraged to pray about the entries, and to make this more and more “user friendly” for everyone. You know what? That’s really the right thing to do. I’ll do my best because I want these entries to encourage other women, not to make them feel like they can’t do it, but that they can! Ladies, we can all enjoy intimate times with Him in the Word, so let’s aim for that.

Today’s topic is the following:

Is There Really Any Example of Study in the Bible?
So, what do you think? Up to this point, we have discussed that the Bible is the expressed will of God. We’ve touched on the fact that God’s character, truth, love, power, and so much more is revealed. We know we should be able to find out more about who created us, how we were created, and the purpose for which we were created in the Bible. I realize I’ve even gone as far as saying, “We need to study the Bible, ladies!”

But, if I encourage you to do something which has no foundation in Scripture, then can we agree we have a really BIG problem? People have been using the Bible as a personal “hammer” on others for years. They’ve attempted polite and impolite versions of peer pressure. They’ve taken it out of context, twisted it, and formed it into their own personal statement for themselves and others. This, ladies, is dangerous territory! Handling the Word of God rightly is so important, it gives me the shivers and makes me cry at the same time! (Please, please! If you see something incorrect, I need you to speak to me privately about it! I am terrified of what this blog might mean for me if done out of God’s will!)

Our choice to study should flow out of a few things in our lives. One of those things is a deep, passionate love for Jesus and all that He has done for us. Another is seeing an example in Scripture and seeing it as either a command or a sound biblical practice in our lives that will yield fruit. God only gives us things to “do” that are for our blessing and benefit, and for the blessing and benefit of our relationship to Him and others.

So, is this a command? Is it a discipline? We read so many authors place Bible Study very high in the list of Christian practices. (I personally agree with those authors.) But, do we have an example to draw and maybe commit our hearts and minds to the fact that this is something we should be doing?

Ahhhhh! I love questions like this!

Some Bible verses to think about:

“You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life. These are the Scriptures that testify about Me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life.” ~John 5:39-40  (Intriguing statement from Jesus to whom?)

“Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true. Many of the Jews believed, as did also a number of prominent Greek women and many Greek men.” ~Acts 17:11-12 (Interesting it is considered ‘more noble’ to examine the Scriptures.)

In an effort to shorten these entries, I’d like to try opening it up at this point for your thoughts and comments. What do you think about this topic? Have your found something excellent in your time to share with others? I’d love to read it!

Blessings to you as you embark on the Bible study adventure!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

