Bible Study (Part 8)

This entry was previously published by me on another blog. Due to its relevance, I have included it here.

Hello, friends! Here we are getting to the end of this part of our series. Really, we are! *grin* More than five parts to anything is more than I ever thought I could work through, but I’ve hoped to persevere. Well, we’ve made it to eight now. I hope this is a blessing to you.

I think this topic might qualify as one that makes us go, “Hmmmmmm.” Let’s dialogue over this one, if you like.

What If I Never Study the Bible?
I think we might agree Bible study is not mandatory in a “jump through hoops” in the Christian life kind of way. God would never want us to study the Scriptures with no heart for Him in the process. Jesus specifically had words for the Pharisees who studied the Word, but did not come to God for life. So, studying is something else to us. We’ve covered all of that in the other entries, so there’s really no reason to go through it again.

But, what if I never choose to study? What will be the effect of that decision?

I don’t believe salvation is based in study, so one who has relationship with God through faith in Jesus’ death on the cross doesn’t lose that. We would still be saved.

What comes to mind to me immediately is our maturity. That is what would suffer most, I believe. If we explore maturity in Christ, we would likely find that knowing and living by the Scriptures changes everything in our mountaintop and valley experiences of life. We have wisdom for our own lives and can share with others what God has done in our lives in that way. We have opportunity to turn to the truth of the Word and become familiar with the love and power of our heavenly Father. What is left for us without intimate knowledge of the Scriptures?

Can we move through life without study? Absolutely. I know people do it all the time. In fact, I’ve heard my pastor mention statistics saying that the majority of Christians are not regularly setting aside time for study. At first I was surprised, but I have to be honest. I know I’m part of that statistic in certain seasons of life by my own choice or by circumstance.

Here we aren’t talking about seasons. The Isaiah verse that says, “He gently leads those who have young” has been my haven when my kids were very small. Not that it was an excuse for avoiding study, but I did live in His grace during those times. Instead, I walked with Him closely in other ways when my sleep-deprived mind could barely focus beyond basic tasks.

But, what if I never study the Bible?

What do you think?

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

