Bible Study Methods (Part 2)

This entry was previously published by me on an old blog. Due to its relevance, I have included it here.

Hello, lovely friends! I hope you are well today. I’m praying you feel a fresh wind of freedom today in your walk with Christ! Freedom just sounds so…perfect for the spring weather we’re having here. But, I know freedom would feel wonderful no matter what the meteorological conditions.  😉 May God bless you today!

I was reading through the comments from yesterday’s entry about methods, and I was encouraged. I expected to get a little feedback, and I was blessed when I found some brave souls willing to share. Thanks for doing that, ladies. This brought a larger topic to the table, so I thought I would toss out some things that may bless you.

Kay Arthur is one very well-known Bible study teacher and author. She typically works through a very detailed approach to inductive Bible study. Whether you choose to follow her methods or not is completely up to you, of course. I personally prefer the simpler version of the method. Knowing her method is not going to hurt anyone, and it may serve some very well. Her teaching is thorough, and can be fruitful in the lives of those who study  through one of her books. (Do you get the fact that I love her teaching, the method is sound, but it may not be for everyone?)

Let’s take a look at this, and maybe we’ll get a grip on what the method is all about.

Inductive Bible Study
Our pastor has always broken the method down to the most basic, bare-bones description. I like it this way, too. I hope this blesses you as you consider three quick and easy questions to ask of Scripture while you study.

  • What does it say?
  • What does it mean?
  • What does it mean to me?

Asking these questions as you move through a couple verses, or even larger portions of Scripture, will add quite a bit to your interaction with the Word as you go. You might try it. See what you think of these questions. Try it a few times, and see how it works for you.

If you wanted to know more about the method, you could do a little more reading. A simple search led me to some nice online resources that explained the method more thoroughly, and presented a bit more of a framework for the method.

I really liked this explanation by Tony Warren. He is fairly straight forward and thorough. Even exploring the article in a quick, cursory kind of way will give you some grasp of the method, so I’m including it here.

This article from www.Godsquad.com was a little more extensive in its list of questions, but it does offer some other ideas for questions you might ask of Scripture as you study.

This is Precept Minstries which is known for the inductive studies so many of us know.

Reading the Tony Warren article is probably the best recommendation I could make. Remember that our study only can induce from Scripture those things which line up with the facts. This is where you might choose to check out what you’ve studied against a reliable commentary resource or with other mature believers who have wisdom in this area. I tend to study

We must never ignore that there is a danger in studying without handling Scripture correctly. We won’t add to, subtract from, or warp the Word as we go along if we are wise and build great study habits.

I hope you enjoy a little inductive study sometime soon, if only to try something new. Feel free to share your experience with the inductive method, if you’ve tried it.  :’)

Blessings!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

