Fresh Refreshing

Now that I’ve looked at the title for this post I’m a little taken back. It tiptoes to the line of redundancy, which I tend not to want to cross. It seems to lack the snappy catchphrase creativity and cleverness I usually enjoy. But, these two words are where I am in this season. Like it or not, if you read this blog, you’ll find I’m a thinker more often than not, and that can get me into trouble. (“Trouble?” you say?) Yes, with a capital T. But, thinking is not without its sweetness and light.

My first posts here are still sweet to me. These things are the working out of my faith, in a way. I’ll just warn you that the next posts could be challenging. I would offer a disclaimer, but that doesn’t fit where I am. I’m on a journey which you are welcome to join; but I’ll offer fair warning, it could get messy–for both of us.  You see, I’ve been walking a road which begs to be followed, yet it leads to unfamiliar places. If you can imagine something a bit like Christian on his way in The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan, you’re probably close. (That’s a fabulous read, by the way!) I seem to need to examine things which I have known with my head for years, but have had difficulty knowing with my heart. I’m sure I’m not the only one to find things along the way which seem to come up for examination every so often. Well, this is my season. Feel free to walk along. I much prefer company on long journeys. I can’t tell you where the road ends, but I can give a little background on the beginning of it and how I began walking it.

Some time ago a word in a conversation with a friend caught my attention (actually, it raised my dander at the time): graceless. What does a person do with that word? It immediately paints a dichotomy: grace and completely lacking grace. Certainly, I could not be graceless. After all, I’ve offered forgiveness probably hundreds of thousands of times in my just-shy-of-two-decades-long comprehension of the word “grace.” I licked my wounds for a while, but was still very sure I wasn’t exactly “graceless” in my actions. Eventually, there was resolution with the friend involved, but the incident was not without its impression on me.

As I was pleasantly moving along in my ordered world, I attended a meeting regarding women’s bible studies at our church. A particular planned resource caught my attention, but I wasn’t entirely sure why. I just knew I should pick it up and test drive it for myself. The resource was The Search for Significance by Robert S. McGee. This book has revealed so much about myself to me that I can’t put it into words. It has not been without its (hopefully) indelible mark.

The next dot on the timeline shows up a few months later when another friend quoted a fantastic read that made an impression on him, The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning. I’ve picked that up and listened to it in audio book format. Wow. That’s about all I can say. Manning’s words on grace at the beginning caught me off guard, brought the “graceless conversation” back to my mind, touched on my search for significance, and challenged everything I had neatly established and filed in my gray matter about grace.

You may already know these resources inside and out. Or, you may know none of them particularly well. I can only tell you that, if this is the plan my Abba Father has for my life in this season, then this is fuel for a fire–a big fire! I can tell you, as far as I can see (which isn’t all that far), this could be dangerous. If some of the previous gentle droplets have been making cute little ripples, this may look far more like a downpour.

Warning given.

Let it rain, I say! Let it rain!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Fresh Refreshing”

  1. Cathy Woodside Says:

    I’m glad we’re friends. Love your heart.

Leave a Reply

